Art Space presented by Toyota C-HR

For our 20th, we’re fulfilling a long-cherished wish and transforming the Orangery into a place for interdisciplinary and contemporary art. The Art Space is a place where various art forms meet, illustrating the fusion of arts including music, light, dance and performance.

The centrepiece will be the premiere of the space and light installation FEED II* by Chicago-based Kurt Hentschläger, who is regarded as one of the most innovative contemporary media artists of our time. Hentschläger’s works have been shown around the world since his breakthrough as part of the artist duo Granular Synthesis, with exhibitions including those at the Venice Biennale, PS1 and Creative Time in New York and CTM Berlin. The performance tries to fathom the limits of perception and simulates the loss of the spatial orientation through a skillful interplay of bass, fog, stroboscope and pulsating lights.

The Art Space aims to explore the boundaries between concert, film and visual arts while focusing on issues related to identity, gender and origin in a globalized world. The free tickets for FEED II* are strictly limited and will be available before every show at the Art Spot presented by Toyota C-HR opposite the Orangerie. First come, first serve!

 

Running Order FEED II*:

Fr: 22.00 & 01.00

Sa: 22.00 & 01.00

So: 22.00

 

*Funded by the Art Foundation of Saxony-Anhalt

Art Space presented by Toyota C-HR

Zum Zwanzigsten erfüllen wir uns einen lang gehegten Wunsch und verwandeln die Orangerie zu einem Ort für interdisziplinäre und zeitgenössische Kunst. Hier im Art Space treffen verschiedenste Kunstformen aufeinander und verdeutlichen die Verschmelzung der Künste aus Musik, Licht, Tanz und Performance.

Herzstück wird die Uraufführung der Raum- und Licht-Installation FEED II* von Kurt Hentschläger aus Chicago sein, der als einer der innovativsten Medienkünstler der Gegenwart gilt. Seit seinem Durchbruch mit dem Künstlerduo Granular Synthesis, wurden Hentschlägers Arbeiten international ausgestellt, u.a. bei der Biennale in Venedig, PS1 und Creative Time in New York oder beim CTM Berlin Die Performance versucht die Grenzen der Wahrnehmung auszuloten und simuliert durch das gekonnte Zusammenspiel aus Bass, Nebel, Stroboskop und pulsierenden Lichtern den Verlust der räumlichen Orientierung.

Mit dem Art Space soll der Grenzbereich zwischen Konzert, Film und Bildender Kunst erkundet und Fragestellungen zu Identität, Geschlecht und Herkunft in einer globalisierten Welt in den Fokus gestellt werden. Die kostenlosen und streng limitierten Tickets für FEED II gibt es jeweils vor den Vorstellungen am Art Spot presented by Toyota C-HR gegenüber der Orangerie. First come, first serve!

 

Running Order FEED II*:

Fr: 22.00 & 01.00

Sa: 22.00 & 01.00

So: 22.00

 

*Gefördert durch die Kunststiftung des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt