cmd+N AT CAMPGROUNDAlle Themen

cmd+N [as known as: +N, command+N, pretzel+N, cloverleaf+N or propeller+N] describes the keyboard shortcut to open a new window.

Three days of Melt Festival and Ferropolis has always been synonymous with creating a new world, for a place irrespective of convention or borderline thinking and for innovation – whether on or off the stage. With cmd+N just added to the bill, we’re now able to add one more piece of the puzzle to this self-image: a journey between technology, digital enlightenment and interconnection, augmented & virtual reality, independent gaming and other digital experiences. A new perspective, just as the shortcut cmd+N opens new digital windows.

Teaming up with the two Berlin tech & digital institutions Tech Open Air and A MAZE., which each host one day of the lineup, various panels and talks create a place of virtual and surreal world about music, art and gaming. On top, a handpicked selection of independent games and VR-experiences like Super Hexagon or Beat Saber are ready to be tested.

Friday, 19 July:

14:00 – 15:30: Hypertalks with Host Thorsten S. Wiedemann, Tom Schley & Dominik Johann, ℌEXOℜℭℑSMOS aka Moisés Horta Valenzuela, René Rother, Marishka Zachariah, Franziska Zeiner, György Droste, Juan Orjuela, Allan Cudicio, Sara Lisa Vogel and Maren Brede.

All-day exhibition of the games Sticky Cats, Super Hexagon and Vectronom as well as the VR-experiences Beat Saber, Garden, MuX, Thumper.

Hosted by A MAZE.

Saturday, 20 July:

14:35 – 18:00: Talks with Cari Merriam (Corporate Employee Wellbeing), Jada Sezer (Model & Activist), Johanna Jaskowska (Digital Creative Artist), Mark Reeder (Producer & Founder MFS Berlin), Moon Ribas (Avant-garde Artist) and Tijana Tamburic (Co-Founder Narratives).

Hosted by Tech Open Air

HOSTS

Tech Open Air (TOA) is Europe’s Leading Technology Festival. Their mission is to help people future-proof their businesses and their lives. They believe that technology is transforming the way we work, live and relate: only if you understand technology can you take advantage of the opportunities it creates.

A MAZE. / Berlin is an international festival focusing on the art and culture of games and playful media. A MAZE. invites creatives from over 35 countries to experience inspiring talks and workshops, and to celebrate the art of video games making.

SPEAKER

Thorsten S. Wiedemann is founder and director of A MAZE.. He produces and curates festivals, exhibitions and workshops on the intersection of games, games culture, digital arts and playful media under the label A MAZE..

Tom Schley & Dominik Johann are part of award-winning video game studio Crows Crows Crows (creators of Accounting VR, Dr. Langeskov, The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe), as composer and art director respectively. Individually, they work on games like MINIT and FIGHT KNIGHT.

Moisés Horta Valenzuela alias ℌEXOℜℭℑSMOS is an electronic musician, composer and sound artist currently based in Berlin. His work deals with the ways in which the mind is continuously transformed by the flow between the virtual/physical realms.

René Rother is an interdisciplinary multimedia and game artist specializing in atmospheric pieces, e.g. RK3000 oder Rotting Crescendo.

Marishka Zachariah is an Indian-Canadian game developer, designer and digital artist who also partakes in personal experimental projects involving Virtual Reality. She is currently working as a generalist for the award-winning indie studio Crows Crows Crows.

Franziska Zeiner is a game designer and editor, interested in creating meaningful, user-centered experiences. She is passionate about feminism, quirky games, observing mundane everyday interactions and turning them into digital experiences.

György Droste is a designer of simple games. He cofounded Ludopium and worked on titles like Vectronom, Project MMM and Light Box. Originally from Budapest, Hungary he graduated from the Cologne Game Lab with a degree in game design.

Juan Orjuela is a musician and game developer from Bogotá, Colombia who specialises in interactive composition and sound design for video games and experimental installations.

Allan Cudicio is a Berlin-based game designer and loves sunny days with glitter – a combo we love at Melt Festival!

Sara Lisa Vogel is a futurist, collaboratively exploring and constructing new virtual and augmented realities to inspire, unite and enrich humanity. 

Maren Brede is an Economist striving for welfare-maximisation. In flesh, she‘s a hedonistic gamer focussing on social interactions and exploring new versions of oneself during roleplaying while providing (game)mates with sparkling home-baked pastries.

Cari Merriam is a teacher, healer and coach with years of experience and training. Her company is rooted in the practical application of ancient wisdom, blending transformative techniques from yoga, tantra and deep breath-work traditions into transcendent experiences of personal power and expansion of self.

Jada Sezer worked as a model for L’Oreal Paris’ #AllWorthIt + # TrueMatch beauty campaigns, which actively encourage self-esteem to turn into self-esteem. She is also an ambassador for Young Minds Charity, helping young people with mental illness.

Johanna Jaskowska is a self-proclaimed “hybrid creative” with a focus on new technologies and innovations. In her work with augmented reality on Instagram, she explores how technology and digitization can promote communication between cultures.

Mark Reeder is one of the most exciting figures in the Berlin music scene. From his adopted hometown, the always elegantly uniformed musician, producer and label operator decisively influenced and shaped the musical development on both sides of the Wall.

Moon Ribas is a Catalan avant-garde artist and cyborg activist best known for developing the Seismic Sense, an online seismic sensor once implanted in her feet that allowed her to perceive earthquakes taking place anywhere in the planet through vibrations in real time.

Tijana Tamburic is the co-founder of Female Narratives, a collective that brings together more than 100 creative women – from directors to mountain climbers to mental health activists and poets.

With kind support from Berlin Valley

cmd+N AT CAMPGROUNDAlle Themen

cmd+N [auch: +N, Command+N, Befehlstaste+N, cloverleaf+N oder Propeller+N] beschreibt den Tastatur-Kurzbefehl zum Öffnen eines neuen Fensters.

Drei Tage Melt Festival und Ferropolis, das steht seit je her auch für drei Tage Eintauchen in eine neue Welt, für einen Ort ungeachtet von Konventionen oder Grenzdenken und für Innovation – egal ob auf oder neben der Bühne. Mit cmd+N addieren wir zu diesem Selbstverständnis jetzt ein weiteres Puzzelteil: eine Reise zwischen Technologie, digitaler Aufklärung und Vernküpfung, Augmented & Virtual Reality, Independent Gaming und weiteren digitalen Erfahrungen. Ein neuer Blickwinkel, genau so wie auch der Kurzbefehl cmd+N neue digitale Fenster öffnet.

In Kooperation mit den beiden Berliner Tech- & Digitalinstitutionen Tech Open Air und A MAZE., die jeweils einen Tag des Programms hosten, und verschiedensten Panels und Talks schaffen wir so einen Ort der virtuellen und surrealen Welt rund um die Themen Musik, Kunst und Gaming. On top im Gepäck, eine handverlesene Auswahl an Independent-Games und VR-Erlebnissen wie Super Hexagon oder Beat Saber.

Freitag, 19. Juli:

14:00 – 15:30: Hypertalks mit Host Thorsten S. Wiedemann, Tom Schley & Dominik Johann, ℌEXOℜℭℑSMOS aka Moisés Horta Valenzuela, René Rother, Marishka Zachariah, Franziska Zeiner, György Droste, Juan Orjuela, Allan Cudicio, Sara Lisa Vogel und Maren Brede. 

Ganztägig Ausstellung der Games Sticky Cats, Super Hexagon und Vectronom sowie der VR-Erlebnisse Beat Saber, Garden, MuX und Thumper.

In Kooperation mit A MAZE.

Samstag, 20. Juli:

14:35 – 18:00: Talks mit Cari Merriam (Corporate Employee Wellbeing), Jada Sezer (Model & Aktivistin), Johanna Jaskowska (Digital Creative Artist), Mark Reeder (Produzent & Labelgründer von MFS Berlin), Moon Ribas (Avantgarde-Künstlerin) und Tijana Tamburic (Mitgründerin Female Narratives).

In Kooperation mit Tech Open Air

PARTNER

Tech Open Air (TOA) ist Europas erstes und größtes interdisziplinäres Technologie-Festival aus Berlin. Ins Leben gerufen von Nikolas Woischnik knüpft das Festival ein Band zwischen den Disziplinen Technologie, Musik, Kunst und Wissenschaft und fördert Austausch und Zusammenarbeit über die Szene hinaus.

A MAZE. / Berlin Festival ist eine internationale Plattform für Games und Playful Media für Expert*innen und Kreative aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. Ein Ort für alternative Gamingkultur, virtual Reality und andere Dimensionen, an dem die Kunstform des Gamings im Vordergrund steht, nicht das Produkt.

SPEAKER 

Thorsten S. Wiedemann ist Gründer von A MAZE.. Unter diesem Label kuratiert und veranstaltet er Festivals, Ausstellungen und Workshops als Schnittstelle zwischen Games, Gaming-Kultur, digitaler Kunst und spielerischen Medien.

Tom Schley & Dominik Johann arbeiten als Komponist bzw. Art Director für das preisgekrönten Videospielstudio Crows Crows Crows (The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe). Darüber hinaus arbeiten sie an Spielen wie MINIT oder FIGHT KNIGHT.

Moisés Horta Valenzuela alias ℌEXOℜℭℑSMOS arbeitet in Berlin als Musiker, Komponist und Klangkünstler für elektronische Musik. In seiner Arbeit beschäftigt er sich mit der Wirkungsweise wie der Geist durch die Fusion aus dem virtuellen und dem physischen Bereich ständig verändert wird.

René Rother ist ein interdisziplinärer Multimedia- und Game-Künstler, der sich auf atmosphärische Stücke spezialisiert hat, z.B. bei Spielen wie RK3000 oder Rotting Crescendo.

Marishka Zachariah ist eine indisch-kanadische Spieleentwicklerin, Designerin und Digitalkünstlerin, die auch an persönlichen experimentellen Projekten mit Bezug zu Virtual Reality teilnimmt. Sie arbeitet für das preisgekrönte Crows Crows Crows Studio.

Franziska Zeiner ist Spieledesignerin und Redakteurin und daran interessiert, sinnvolle, benutzerzentrierte Erlebnisse zu schaffen. Sie liebt Feminismus, ausgefallene Spiele, beobachtet alltägliche Interaktionen und formt daraus digitaleErlebnisse.

György Droste ist ein Gamedesigner. Er war Mitbegründer von Ludopium und arbeitete an Titeln wie Vectronom, Project MMM und Light Box. Der gebürtige Budapester absolvierte das Cologne Game Lab mit einem Abschluss in Game Design.

Juan Orjuela ist ein Musiker und Spieleentwickler aus dem kolumbianischen Bogotá, der sich auf interaktive Komposition und Sounddesign für Videospiele und experimentelle Installationen spezialisiert hat.

Allan Cudicio ist ein in Berlin ansässiger Game Designer, der sonnige Tage in Verbindung mit Glitzer liebt – eine perfekte Kombo für das Melt Festival.

Sara Lisa Vogel beschäftigt sich mit der futuristisch, kollaborativen Erforschung und Konstruktion neuer virtueller und erweiterter Realitäten, um die Menschheit zu inspirieren, zu vereinen und zu bereichern.

Maren Brede ist Wirtschaftswissenschaftlerin, im Herzen und in Natura sie hedonistische Gamerin, die sich auf soziale Interaktionen konzentriert und neue Versionen von sich selbst während des Rollenspiels erforscht.

Cari Merriam ist Lehrerin und Heilerin für die praktische Anwendung uralter Weisheit, bei der transformative Techniken aus Yoga, Tantra und tiefgreifenden Atemarbeitstraditionen in transzendente Erfahrungen mit persönlicher Kraft und Selbsterweiterung eingebunden werden.

Jada Sezer arbeitete als Model für die #AllWorthIt + #TrueMatch-Beauty-Kampagnen von L’oreal Paris die aktiv dazu anregen, Selbstzweifel in Selbstwert zu verwandeln. Außerdem ist sie Botschafterin von Young Minds Charity, die junge Menschen mit psychischen Erkrankungen unterstützen.

Johanna Jaskowska ist selbsternannter “Hybrid Creative” mit Fokus auf neue Technologien und Innovationen. In ihrer Arbeit mit Augemented Reality auf Instagram setzt sie sich damit auseinander, wie Technologie und Digitalisierung die Kommunikation zwischen Kulturen fördern kann.

Mark Reeder ist eine der spannendsten Figuren der Berliner Musikszene. Von seiner Wahlheimatstadt aus beeinflusste und prägte der stets edel uniformierte Musiker, Produzent und Labelbetreiber dazu maßgeblich die musikalische Entwicklung diesseits und jenseits der Mauer.

Moon Ribas ist eine katalanische Avantgarde-Künstlerin und Cyborg-Aktivistin, die vor allem für die Entwicklung des Seismic Sense bekannt ist, eines in ihre Füße eingepflanzten Online-Erdbebensensors, mit dem sie Erdbeben überall auf dem Planeten durch Vibrationen in Echtzeit wahrnehmen konnte.

Tijana Tamburic ist Mitbegründerin von Female Narratives, einem Kollektiv das über 100 kreative Frauen zusammenbringt – von Regisseuren über Bergsteigerinnen bis hin zu Aktivistinnen für geistige Gesundheit und Dichterinnen.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Berlin Valley